MINUTES OF THE 288th MEETING OF THE REVIEW COMMITTEE ON GENETIC MANIPULATION (RCGM) HELD ON 10.07.2024 BY VIDEO CONFERENCING (GO TO MEETING)

The Chairman-RCGM extended a formal welcome to the members of the RCGM for the 288<sup>th</sup> meeting and initiated the process of the meeting. The list of participants is given at Annexure-I.

- 2. The Committee adopted the minutes and recommendations of the 287<sup>th</sup> meeting of the RCGM held on 26.06.2024.
- 3. On action taken report, the Member-Secretary informed that during the 287<sup>th</sup> meeting of the RCGM, a total of 51 applications including information items were considered and the Secretariat is in the process of issuing requisite permit letters based on the recommendations of the RCGM.

### 4. Proposals considered

## 4.1 Applications in the area of Pharmaceuticals

The Committee considered the applications to receive SAR-CoV-2 Omicron Variant; to conduct preclinical toxicity studies on Pembrolizumab monoclonal antibody Biosimilar; preclinical toxicity reports of Insulin glargine Biosimilar, Tocilizumab Biosimilar monoclonal antibody; Aflibercept Biosimilar; and request seeking advice on the regulatory pathway on development of Semaglutide Tablets. After deliberation on each application including information items, appropriate decisions were taken by the RCGM.

#### 4.2 Applications in the area of Agriculture

The Committee considered the applications to receive seeds of GE cotton events; to import lyophilized GE corn leaf powder; compliance records on completion of BRL-I 2<sup>nd</sup> year trial of GE maize; inspection report of the CCC on its 1<sup>st</sup> visit to monitor Event Selection Trials of GE banana; request to include one additional location to conduct BRL-I 1<sup>st</sup> year trial of GE cotton; and requests seeking exemption of exogenous DNA free genome edited *Oryza sativa* lines. After deliberation on each application including information items, appropriate decisions were taken by the RCGM.

#### 5. IBSC Reports

The Committee considered minutes submitted by thirty-three IBSCs, thirteen annual compliance reports and nil medical surveillance reports, and appropriate decisions were taken by the RCGM.

#### 6. Other items

The Committee considered the revised Risk Assessment and Risk Management Plan for Environmental approval for Ethanol production from grain-based feedstocks using genetically engineered Saccharomyces cerevisiae strain; draft standard Risk Assessment and Risk Management Plan as per 151<sup>st</sup> GEAC Recommendations; public consultation for revision and updation of list of Infective Microorganisms corresponding to different Risk Groups, 2021.

No other transaction took place, and the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair and members.

The Minutes are approved.

(Prof. Y.K. Gupta) Chairman, RCGM

# Annexure-I

List (	of Participants:	ra
1.	Prof. Y.K. Gupta, Former Professor, AIIMS, New Delhi; President AIIMS, Bhopal & AIIMS, Jammu	Chairman
2.	Dr. Ramesh Sonti, Director & Group Leader, Plant-microbe Interaction, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi	Co-Chair (Agri)
3.	Dr. Arvind Sahu, Executive Director, Regional Centre for Biotechnology, Faridabad	Co-Chair (Biopharma)
4.	Dr. Nitin K. Jain, Scientist 'G' & Head, Regulation, DBT, New Delhi	Member- Secretary
5.	Dr. Chandish R. Ballal, Former Director, National Bureau of Agricultural Insect Resources, Bengaluru	Member
6.	Dr. Neelam S. Sangwan, Professor (Biochemistry), Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh	Member
7.	Dr. S. N. Sudhakara Babu, Former Head, Crop Production & Principal Scientist (Agronomy), ICAR-Indian Institute of Oil Seed Research, Hyderabad	Member
8.	Dr. Uma Shaankar, Senior Professor, IIT-Jammu, Jammu	Member
9.	Dr. Ritu Aggarwal, Professor, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research, Chandigarh	Member
10.	Dr. Asha Chaubey, Sr. Principal Scientist & Head of Fermentation Technology Division, CSIR-IIIM, Jammu	Member
11.	Dr. Viswanathan Chinnusamy, Joint Director (Research), ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, Nominee/Representative - ICAR	Member
12.	Sh. G Narendra, Drug Inspector, CDSCO (HQ), Nominee/Representative – CDSCO	Member
13.	Dr. Abhilasha Singh Mathuriya, Scientist D, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India, Nominee/Representative - MoEF&CC	Member
14.	Dr. Omprakash Meena, Assistant Director, Ministry of Home Affairs, Nominee/Representative - Ministry of Home Affairs	Member
15.	Dr. Dipti K. Thukral, Scientist-G, Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Nominee/Representatives-DST	Member
16.	Dr. Anant Narayan Bhatt, INMAS, Nominee/Representative - Defence Research and Development Organization	Member
17.	Dr. Santosh V. Sawardekar, Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidypeeth, Ratnagiri, SAU Representative	Special Invitee
18.	Dr. Lokesh Kumar Narnoliya, Scientist 'D', DBT, New Delhi	DBT office
Biosa	fety Support Unit:	
19.	Dr. Govind Kumar Rai, Scientist & Coordinator	315, 35 albin
20.	Dr. Poonam Vishwakarma, Scientist	
21.	Dr. Pranjali Vishwakarma, Scientist	T. A. Derys
22.	Dr. Shipra Shahi, Scientist	

23.	Dr. Manpreet Kaur, Scientist
Othe	
24.	Dr. Harish Shandilya, M/s. Enzene Biosciences Limited, Pune
25.	Mr. Ramesh Kuril, M/s. Enzene Biosciences Limited, Pune
26.	Dr. Surya Narayan, M/s. Enzene Biosciences Limited, Pune
27.	Mr. Saravanan Muthaiah, M/s. Vipragen Biosciences Private Limited, Mysore
28.	
29.	
30.	

Glupla